Second Favorite Artist: Edgar Allan Poe

bruckmann-poe-portraitFrom what I said before, I stated that me favorite artist was, “Leonardo De Vinci.” Besides Leonardo De Vinci, I have other artist that inspired me to become an artist. My second favorite artist is the infamous, “Edgar Allan Poe.” Edgar Allan Poe is my second favorite artist because of the genres he chose to be represented in his famous poems. For example, the genres he used were “murder, revenge, torture, the plague, being buried alive, and even insanity. All of these genres can be related in to mostly horror, and even suspense. For me, horror my favorite genre whether its watching a movie or reading a story.     I even tried to apply that type of genre into my art to give the viewer a “bone-chilling” feeling. Also, the poems he wrote were inspirations to me. For example, during my days in junior high, I was festinated with his poetry; which was “The Raven,” “The Fall of the House of Usher,” “The Tell-tale Heart,” and “The Monkey’s Paw.” From reading all these poems, I wanted to see if my art can as scary and frightful as these were. That is one of the main reasons I chose DMA as my major; To give my creations the chance to come to life and scary the living daylights out of anyone that crosses their way. Maybe even be recognized for how alive they look to; like my art just jumped out of the picture and gave you a fright.

This entry was posted in Best Work, Non Time-Based, Writing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

