Intro to Visual Communication Final Project: The Anubis Pattern

Anubis-Pattern

The final project for this class is named, “The Anubis Pattern.” This project was created to represent the use of how patterns carry means within the repetition in an abstract appearance. I made this pattern possible by putting a pattern on both the foreground and the background. For example, I used an art style from “Larry Pittman” where he made a dark background to draw the viewer’s attention to the patterns in the foreground. I adapted his style into my painting by shading the top-half of the painting in black, and the lower half in a dark-gold color. From finishing the background, I started the pattern by placing Egyptian eyes, and hieroglyphics. I wanted the colors to be the same as the background, but in a way where it brings more attention to the foreground pattern.

To end the pattern in the background, I made Anubis look like a specter behind the pyramid. This helped made Anubis look more anonymous and how the viewer would forget that the actual Anubis is glaring right at you. For the foreground pattern, I wanted the colors to stand out ant bring a lot of attention to that particular spot. For this pattern, I made the colors white and blue for the viewer to respond to the characters in the foreground. In addition, my painting is to reflect on my respects for the Egyptian God, Anubis. The reason why I chose Anubis is because of how I admire his role in Egyptian religion. For example, Anubis role is, “Protector of the dead and embalming also god of funerals and death.” When Egyptian culture considering Anubis to be the master of funerals, it gives this god a title that is unique to him.

 

What I liked about this project is how I got to mess around with the patterns that are in my interest. For example, trying to use what paint would fit into the background and foreground whether the paint was water-based or gouache was difficult enough, but making a pattern for the foreground and seeing the characters that I made is another story. Even though this pattern making was very difficult, it helped me adapt into a new style of art.

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Best Work, Lectures & Workshops, Research, Time-Based, Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

