Survey Final Project

This project was my final one to Survey to Animation. The project was to apply an animator’s style to our animation while following a message, “What is a city to you?” The animator that I choose was Xu Jingda (A Da). While making this project, I hade to keep these three requirements in mind; “Elements of A Da’s style that are distinct, What elements of A Da’s style I tried to adapt and How successful, I was adapted A Da’s style.

While making this project, I had to adapt A Da’s style in my animation. One of his styles was the walking sequence he made his characters have. For example, that sequence was applied in “Three Monks” when the red monk was shown. The walk sequence that he made for the not only the red monk, but the blue and yellow one as well. With these three monks wearing robes, it made it easier for A Da to put one foot in front of the other while he kept repeating that walking sequence for a certain amount of time. He also applied the arms to swing back and forth to which character’s leg would go first. Another style that A Da had was doing full animation while zooming in the temple in the “Three Monks.” Full animation is repeating frames for a certain amount of time. A Da had shown this technique when the temple came in the beginning. For example, when the temple came in, A Da had zoomed into the temple on the mountain in the beginning after the red monk interacted with the butterflies. In addition, this style of A Da’s was getting his characters to turn. In the “Three Monks,” the red and blue monk had this style applied when they both had to get and carry back a bucket of water while climbing the hill. The characters turned like they were really people, while keeping the walking sequence in motion. One more style of A Da’s was changing the transparency of colors in his animation. In “Chao Ji Fei Zao” made in 1986, he had changed the transparency of multiple colors to basic white when the dealer was handing out a white bar to the people. By doing this, it shows that changing the transparency of the people’s multiple colors to white was the main effect of the animation.From watch animations of A Das, I tried to apply his style to the best of my ability. One of his styles was trying to apply the walking sequence he made his characters have. I tried to apply his style when I had my two characters move. I tried to apply this to my first character was walking in the beginning. The second attempt was my second character walking in-between the middle and the end. Another style that I tried to apply was the camera zooming in with my building. For instance, when my first character came the building, I made different viewpoints for the building to make the animation look like the camera was zooming into the building.

From adapting the styles of A Da, I was successful with his style. One way I was successful with his style was the walking sequence. By that, even though my characters had no robes, I tried to imagine how A Da would do the walking sequence with the character’s legs moving. By using his style of walking, it made my characters have a similar motion to A Da’s characters. Another success I had with A Da’s style was zooming in while showing the character in motion. For instance, in “Three Monks,” A Da had made his character sweat while making him move. I applied this when my second character was walking. Just as how A Da showed the yellow monk sweat, I applied this to my character to show that he was tried out of breath.

 

This project was difficult to make, but it did show me how the animators before me had to do in their time. This also made me realize that drawing the frames isn’t enough, but how the movement in the frames is in sync with each other. By making the movements in each frame in synced, it shows that the motion the character is making looks like its actually happening. I wonder what other animator today had to make an animation like this.

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Research, Time-Based, Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

