Computer Animation Final Project: Maya Character Complete

Screen Shot 2015-05-15 at 1.38.34 PM Screen Shot 2015-05-15 at 1.39.30 PM Screen Shot 2015-05-15 at 1.39.15 PM Screen Shot 2015-05-15 at 1.39.21 PM

For my final project for Computer Animation 2 class, I had to create my own character on maya. Using the knowledge of manipulating vertexes, faces and edges, I needed to apply that knowledge to my character. In addition, UV mapping and UV Texturing the skin and clothes of my character as well.

When starting out my character, I wanted it to be not to complex but not that simple. For example, if my character would be complex, it would mean that the geometry of the polygons would need to be smooth or else the animation wouldn’t look right. Also, make sure that the maya character would almost be exactly close to the original design. My maya character is almost the same as the design but I had to make some adjustments to fix the polygons. Lastly, my character needed to have separate relations with it’s polygons. By separate relations, I mean how some polygons would be separate from the the other so that tie can’t be considered as one polygon when I was UV mapping.

When it came to making the polygons for the body parts, there were a few challenges. One challenge is making the hands. The finger were easy but making the hand was hard. I needed to extrude the vertexes tins stretch them to make the hand. The result, I came pretty well. Another challenge was making the head. For example, the the ears are connected to the head making it harder to extrude the right faces to make. When making the head I e=used a square and the stretched it out to get the right form of the head. In addition, make the edges form a grin of the mouth to make an oppression on it. The result was that the head came out well but could used some small improvements. Finally, the uv texturing for the clothes. Editing the uv texture was a challenge in it’s own way. Not only did I had to to shift the mapping of the polygon, but also make an edge to tell the uv texture editor where to cut through the polygon. The end result is that the texturing came out fine but I could make some improvements to them in the near future. After making tis project, I feel more confidant about using maya but also an understand on making a character for an animation for maya. I do hope to learn more about maya in the later future.

This entry was posted in Non Time-Based, Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

